Home » Windows 7 » Windows 7 : Easy Transfer Files, Users and Settings to new or same computer

Windows 7 : Easy Transfer Files, Users and Settings to new or same computer

Windows 7 comes with an inbuilt utility, Windows Easy Transfer, which allows you to transfer Files, users, Settings, documents, emails, Internet Favorites, videos, shared documents etc from one computer to another without removal from your old computer. This will help you migrate users and their settings to a new system. The Settings include

You can find this utility under All Programs  > Accessories > System Tools. This utility should be helpful and must be used by system admin either in office  or a nerd at home to either transfer profile or recreate it again on the same machine.  You can use an external hard drive, USB drive, Network or Easy transfer Cable which directly sends data to your new computer.

Windows 7 easy transfer

Step 1: Profile Scan in Old Computer

Windows Easy Transfer tool first scans all the profile which is available on the machine. Here an estimate is made about the size and what can be backed up ( Email, Documents, Music, Videos etc ).  It also includes Shared Item data and IIS AppPool\Classic .net App Pool.

Windows 7 Easy Transfer Tool

Step 2 : Customize backup

For every profile scanned you will get a customize option. Here you can select or deselect the default data which is selected to be backed up. There is also an advance link that will help you make a folder by folder decision of what needs to be backed up.

Windows 7 Transfer User Details

Windows 7 Transfer Modify Selection

Step 3 : Password Protect your transfer files

Next step is to add a strong password. While doing the backup you will be asked to enter a key which will be again asked when you restore the data to a different computer. Make sure you enter a key which you can remember or at least write it down at some place.

Windows 7 File Transfer Password

Step 4 : Save Migration File

Now  save the migration file which ends with extension as .MIG. Give it a proper name if you are doing multiple backup. Add username and machine name in the starting. It will take a while to save the data depending on how big the profile is.

Win 7 Easy transfer File MIG

Step 5 : Launch the Windows 7 Easy Transfer in the New Machine or same machine :

Now move to your new machine or even in the same machine and launch the Easy Transfer program in the same way. Once the program starts, choose External Hard Drive or USB and then select “This is my new computer” and choose the file to be used. There you will be prompted to enter the password which you provided when creating the backup.

Step 6 : Restore Process on Old or new computer

Once the Restore Process begins you should be very careful. You will get a screen as below.

Tranfser to New Computer

Now at this point you need to decide if you want to transfer this

  • Let the transfer process create the same user name and transfer files.
  • Add to an existing profile
  • Or create a new profile and then transfer.

If you are choosing last 2 options, select the Advanced Options Link which is just above the transfer button. This will open a new screen where you will be required to map the profile to existing or create new one. Also you will have to map the drives. This however is required only if you have multiple operating system installed on the same machine or the drive letter differs between new and old.

Windows 7 easy Transfer Map Accounts

Easy Transfer Map Drives

Easy Transfer Map Users

Step 7 : Post Transfer Analysis

Once transfer is complete you should make sure everything is completed. For this Windows Easy Transfer tool gives you two verification report. Once That is related to user and second is related to program.

Windows 7 After Process Report

User transfer Details  will tell you how many users were transfered, documents, Program settings and System Settings.

Windows 7 after transfer User Details

Program report will give you clear details on which program you will need to be installed again.

Windows 7 Program Report on transfer

Once you complete the verification you are good to close the tool. Go to the User Accounts and you will see a new user created.

USer List After Transfer

We have a video tutorial in place, You can follow step by step instruction and do it looking at the video itself.


About Ashish Mohta

A Professional Tech blogger, Editor and Writer who talks about solving day to day problems of people who use computer. His expertise are in Windows 7, Microsoft Office, Software, Mobile Apps and Video Posts.