How to remove Network Locations from This PC in Windows 10

Starting with Windows XP, through Vista and then Windows 8 and Windows 10, My Computer or This PC displays files and folders shared on the computer. If you want to remove this Shared Folder or remove Network Locations from This PC in Windows 10, here is how you can remove it.

How to remove Network Locations from This PC in Windows 10

In Windows 10 and Windows 8, you can remove the network locations section by deleting a key related to “nethood delegate folder.”

  • Open Registry Editor by typing Regedit in the Run prompt followed by pressing the Enter key
  • Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\My Computer\NameSpace\DelegateFolders
  • Find a key {b155bdf8-02f0-451e-9a26-ae317cfd7779}
  • Right click and delete it.

Open File Explorer and go to This PC. The Network Locations section must be invisible now. If you want to bring it back, add the key again.

Network Locations Local Group Policy Method

If you want to implement the same using GPO or Group Policy, then follow the steps:

  • Type gpedit.msc in the Run prompt, and press the Enter key
  • Navigate to Configuration\Administrative Templates\Start Menu and Taskbar
  • Enable the policy option Do not display or track items in Jump Lists from remote locations
  • Save, and you are done.

Windows XP: How to remove Shared Documents folders from My Computer

In Windows XP, we used to have Shared Documents folders which were available under My Computer. That’s is how you can remove it by deleting a registry entry.

  • Enter Regedit in the Run box [ Winkey + R ]
  • Go to the following key:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\My Computer\NameSpace\DelegateFolders
  • You will find a subkey named {59031a47-3f72-44a7-89c5-5595fe6b30ee}.
  • If you delete this, all of the Shared Documents folders which are usually grouped by Windows under Other Files and Folders, all the shared folder will be gone.

In case you want it back add the Key back to the same place, and it will appear again. You might find more keys under the same. Each will have a specific description. Do note that deleting these keys will not remove or change any shared folder document. It will only remove the visibility of them under My Computer or This PC.


About Ashish Mohta

A Professional Tech blogger, Editor and Writer who talks about solving day to day problems of people who use computer. His expertise are in Windows 7, Microsoft Office, Software, Mobile Apps and Video Posts.

Leave a Reply